THE COURT IS TEMPORARILY ACCEPTING DSC COURSE CERTIFICATES AND DRIVING RECORDS BY EMAIL. PLEASE SUBMIT THESE DOCUMENTS VIA EMAIL
The Court MUST approve your request prior to taking the course or obtaining the driving record.
Defendants may request Defensive Driving in PERSON, by MAIL or ONLINE.
Click ONLINE PAYMENTS to make a request for Defensive Driving Online.
Requests by mail need to include your name, ticket number, and a NOTARIZED written statement requesting defensive driving that states you have not taken defensive driving within the last year nor are currently taking the course for ticket dismissal.
Please include a clear copy of your current Texas Driver's License and your insurance policy (name must appear on the policy) and a cashiers' check or money order for the State Tax and processing fee which is $144.00 or if Violation occurred in a School Zone the fee is $169.00
If you have received a moving violation, you may be eligible to complete a driving safety course and have your violation dismissed. The requirements are as follows:
- Present to the court a valid Texas driver’s license or be a member of the United States military forces serving on active duty. (Commercial License holders may not take driving safety for dismissal of a violation.)
- Present to the court proof of Insurance (name must appear on policy)
- Present to the court a certified copy of my driver’s record (TYPE 3A) from DPS within 90 days.
- Has not completed a driving safety course or motorcycle operator training course within twelve months nor be in the process of taking a course that is not yet reflected on your driving record.
- Present to the court a uniform certificate of defensive driving completion from the Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation (TDLR) approved course by the 90th day after this request. TAYLOR LAKE VILLAGE MUNICIPAL COURT must be on certificate.
- You must pay the the State Tax and Processing fee which is $144.00 or if Speeding Violation occurred in a School Zone the fee is $169.00.
The following DSC Course Providers allow ELECTRONIC FILING (E-File) of the DSC Certificate and Driving Record:
After choosing the DSC Course select the E-FILE option and include the Driving Record
After completion the DSC Course provider will Electronically File your driving certificate and driving record back to us.
Please note you DO NOT have to choose the E-File method but will be responsible for submitting both documents to the court in person or by mail by the 90th day.
If you were cited for any of the following, you are NOT eligible to take driving safety:
- Speeding 25 mph or more above the posted speed limit
- Failure to maintain financial responsibility
- Leaving the scene of a collision
- Passing a School Bus
- Cited while driving in a Construction Zone when workers were present
If you fail to comply a Show Cause Hearing will be set to explain to the Judge why you failed to show proof of completion. If you do not complete or submit the Driver's Safety Course Certificate and Driving Record by the 90th day a $200.00 fine will be assessed.
Note: If you have a commercial driver's license (CDL) you are not eligible to take Driving Safety.